Posted by: PD Warrior | January 31, 2007

What Lies Ahead

When I was first diagnosed with PD, my physician told me I could expect 8-10 good, productive years as far as being physically able to work. Of course he qualified that immediately by stating the obvious “by then there will new and better medications, and surgical techniques.”

This of course triggered the dreaded question that has been haunting me for the last 2 years: What am I going to do to support my family when I can no longer work?

The answer: I don’t know, but I will figure something out. I look at it this way. I have been blessed with a number of “gifts” that are sure to play a part in seeing me through what ever may come my way.

  1. Stubborness- most people wouldn’t think of this as a gift. Lord knows my poor wife probably views it as a curse. In this case, however, it is definately a blessing. It means I won’t ever give up. If you ever want to see me do something, just tell me I am not capable of doing it, then sit back and enjoy the show.
  2. Faith- I have faith that my stubborn streak will see me through! 🙂 Just kidding. I have faith that the Lord will never give me more than I can handle.
  3. Talent- I don’t want to sound like a braggard, or a snob, but I have talents I can fall back on. One of these talents is writing. I currently have a novel that I am in the process of revising with the hopes of eventually submitting it for publication. This disease has slowed down my hands, but not my mind.

So, I will make things work. What I would like to know is this: How are others coping with this type of situation? What sort of back up plans do other people have?

Oh, and I have one more thing to add to my list of positive attributes

4. Stupidity- I am too dumb to know when I’ve been beaten, so I may never stop… 🙂

Responses

  1. I was fortunate that my diagnosis came after I had already retired. I’m glad you have skills you can fall back on. Stubborn is definitely good when it comes to PWP!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

