Posted by: PD Warrior | April 6, 2007

Not Bad…

All in all, I have to say today was a good day. The meds worked well. I even played the piano for a group of residents and employees at work – something I haven’t done in over a year. I even managed to start an IV on a dehydrated person – not that starting an IV is any great feat, at one time I was the “king” of “hard sticks” [hard stick is nursing slang for a difficult IV insertion] but with my hands the way they are now, I am the “self proclaimed last resort” for establishing an IV site. That is to say, for the benefit of the resident, I will only attempt an IV in an extreme emergency, when all else has failed.

In reality, I cannot take all the credit for the IV, if I deserve any credit at all. The credit has to go to God for steadying my hands long enough to hit the vein. That occurred at the end of my work day, and the tremors came back en’ force within 10 minutes of my success.

I won’t complain. I am just greatful for the day I had.

Leave a Reply

Categories

