Posted by: PD Warrior | April 24, 2007

Did Anyone Get The Number Of That Truck?

Sometimes my Parkinson’s meds seem to hit me harder than usual. It’s as if the pill has more of the active ingredient in it than normal, and when that happens I feel like I have been hit by a Mack Truck.

That’s exactly what happened yesterday. About an hour after taking my morning dose every ounce of strength and energy I had was drained from my body. For the first several hours it was all I could do to stay awake.

When this happens I only have two choices: Sleep, or push myself twice as hard. For me at least, I find pushing myself helps to get rid of the effects faster. I am more exhausted when that happens, but it is a different kind of exhausted (if that makes any sense.) With mouths to feed and job responsibilities I will push myself more often than not.

Once in a while the effects are too strong and I will have to miss work, more for the safety of the people I take care of than anything else. Thank God I can feel the effects coming on before they hit me, and have been able to compensate. I can tell which choice I have to make by the intensitiy of the initial feeling I get from the med.

On most days the med does it’s job with no side effects at all, so I guess I shouldn’t complain. Besides, when it does happen, no matter which choice I have made to deal with it I can garauntee one thing…by the end of the day I will be sleeping like a baby, which is a nice change from the restlessness that comes from the Parkinson’s itself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

