Posted by: PD Warrior | April 30, 2007

Let The Adventure Begin

Unity Walk Fact Number One: This year’s Parkinson’s Unity Walk in Central Park was the thirteenth annual Unity Walk. Over 11,200 people showed up from around the world (people from as far away as Australia) to raise money in the fight against Parkinson’s Disease.

My adventure began on Friday April 27th at 5:30am. My wife and I had spent the night at a hotel next to the Buffalo airport, in a room that was graciously provided by a friend. Our flight was scheduled to leave at 7am, so we figured we weould have plenty of time if we arrived at the airport by 6am.

Obviously we don’t get out much.

We arrived at the airport only to find a huge line of people ahead of us. It took 20 minutes to get checked in, and another 45 to go through security. We were in the middle of the security line when they announced our flight was boarding, and by the time we passed through the final check point they were announcing our names over the loud speaker.

Once we passed the final check point we should have been home free, right?

Wrong… As part of the security check we had to take off our shoes. Now let me tell you this; watching me put my shoes on, on a good day, is comical at best. Watching me do it when I’m in a hurry can get down right ugly. To avoid missing the plane I jammed my feet partially into the shoes and my wife and I ran three gates down the hall to catch the plane as they were getting ready to shut the door. Again, watching me run with my shoes on is comical at best, watching me run with them flopping around half on and trying to deal with the Parkinson’s balance issue … not a pretty sight, but probably worth a fortune on America’s Funniest Home Video’s.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

Categories

