Posted by: PD Warrior | May 5, 2007

Blowing off steam

Some days I would like to give everyone I meet a lesson in courtesy; yesterday was one of those days.

I had a follow up visit with my neurologist re my PD. I call it my “six month lube and oil change.” I can’t say that I enjoy the visits, but I usually look forward to them, if for no other reason than discussing what new treatment options may be available, or what the latest research is doing.

Yesterday, however, the visit was just down right annoying. It’s a good 3 hour drive to get from my house to the clinic where my neurologist is based. That isn’t so bad, but my appointment was at 9am, which meant I had to be up at 5 and on the road no later than 6am to get there on time. (Late arrival to one of these appoinments means rescheduling. The office will not take you if you’re late.)

Knowing the time table pressure, I arrived almost 20 minutes early and sat in the waiting room for…an eternity! Nine’o’clock came and went, leaving me still in the waiting room. Finally at 9:30 I was taken in to one of the exam rooms. The nurse took all of my vital information (blood pressure, pulse etc) then left the room, stating “the doctor will be with you in just a few minutes.”

One of these days I will have to look up the meaning of the word “few.” I always thought it meant a small quantity, more than 2 but less than 10 or something similar. Do you see where I’m going with this?

The doctor stepped into the room at 11:00am, apologized for the wait, spent 15 minutes with me left. Now I will say that he answered all of my questions, and being a nurse I thought he gave me the appropriate examination, but man was I ticked when I left the place – three hour drive, two hour wait, then “wham-bam-thankyou-man!”

Now, being in the medical profession myself, I understand that unforseen things come up, and I don’t have a problem with that. But, the excuse I was given by the doctor was “they did something screwy with my schedule today.”  Again, I understand how easily that could have happened, but a simple explanation by the secretary or nurse explaining that he was running behind would have been in order, instead of letting my wife and I stew for 2 hours. 

There, I have said my piece. The proverbial “steam” has been released and I can go on with my day knowing all is right in the universe – until something else ticks me off…

Responses

  1. this is exactly why i question the logic of making appointments here (in the US i mean). we have to schedule a doctor’s appointment three months in advance, yet my kids’ doctors are ALWAYS late. you are lucky you got an apology. ours just smile and are quiet, assuming we already know it is normal for doctors to be late.

    good thing we have a blog, we can vent it off:)

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

