Posted by: PD Warrior | May 7, 2007

You are getting sleepy…

To me, one of the most annoying things about living with PD is the whole sleep issue. Sometimes I will go for days without being able to sleep, then other times I will go for days without being able to stay awake. Both can be symptoms of the disease, and both can be side effects from the meds I have to take. So, which came first, the chicken or the egg?

I am bringing this up because yesterday I took a long nap in the late afternoon, went to bed early, and today I can hardly wake up. I keep hearing one of my favorite Bill Cosby routines over and over in my mind. The one where he tries to hypnotize his brother Russel – “You are getting sleepy…”

Anyway, perhaps I got too much sleep. Or, perhaps it is the PD – besides being abnormally tired, I also had a harder time getting my self to move this morning. My muscles were stiffer than normal, and I had a harder time initiating movement.

Still, things could be worse. I refuse to let this thing get the best of me. I told my best friend once, that “I am too stubborn to quit, and too stupid to know when I’ve been beaten.”

His reply: “Stubborn and stupid; both are fine qualities…in a jackass.” 

Now, some people might think that reply was cruel, but my friend knew me well. He knew the best thing he could do for me was to get me laughing, and laugh we did…I’m not sure if it was because of what he said, or because of the string of profanity that flew out of my mouth after his reply. Either way – it was the right thing for him to say, and one of my favorite memories. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

