Posted by: PD Warrior | May 11, 2007

New Years Resolution

Okay, so it isn’t New Years Day. That doesn’t mean that today can’t mark the beginning of a new year, and the start of a resolution. So, here it goes:

I reslove to lose weight; fifty pounds to be exact, which will put my weight down to 226 lbs.

Why? I’m glad you asked…

There are a number of reason’s, all of them health related- it will lower my BP (blood pressure, for those of you unfamiliar with medical abbreviations), it will lower my cholesterol (which, believe it or not, isn’t high), it will improve my self image, and my PD symptoms.

You see, it all started two days ago as I was getting dressed for the day and my pant’s were feeling a bit tighter than usual. I figured it was no big deal, I had just taken them out of the laundry, and they always feel tight for a few minutes after that. The tightness, however, never really went away like it usually does. Then, yesterday I was walking back to the car from watching my daughters softball game. The parking lot was only about 500 yards away from the field her team was playing on, but I barely made it back to the car. For once it wasn’t the PD that was hindering me; I was out of breath, pure and simple.

Then, this morning I was looking at some pictures of myself that were taken last year. I have definitely gained weight in the last 12 months or so. I am going to take the liberty of blaming the weight gain on Parkinson’s. I haven’t really changed my eating habits over the last year, but I have certainly slowed down.

So now, it’s time to take my life back. I won’t be able to stop the progression of the PD, but I can certainly slow it down. Just about everything I have read on Parkinson’s states the best thing someone with PD can do is exercise. It helps to keep the muscles stronger longer, and it releases endorphins (a chemical produced by the body that is know to both help control pain, and elevate a person’s mood)

There you have it- Happy New Years Day to me.

For anyone that wants to join me in this whole weightloss thing – please see your doctor first! Losing weight can be healthy, but not everyone should go on a diet or exercise program, therefore I cannot recommend any type of diet or exercise program. That must come from your physician.

Leave a Reply

Categories

