Posted by: PD Warrior | May 13, 2007

Boxer, Poet, Statesman, Humanitarian, “The Greatest”

Yes, I am talking about Muhammad Ali…

Some days I am meant to be humbled by greatness, and today is one of those days.  I started out by doing research on Muhammad Ali so I could add a page about him on this site. After all, he is one of the most famous people that I am aware of with Parkinson’s Disease, and the main purpose of this blog is to educate people about the disease.

Today however, I was the one receiving the education. In doing the research I learned about more than just a famous person with PD. I learned about a man with a gentle soul. I learned about a man with an attitude of caring and kindness. I learned about a man who has a kind of wisdom that few could ever wish to attain. I learned about a man who truly is “the greatest.”

Cassius Clay (Muhammad Ali) is much more than just a boxer. His humanitarian achievements are perhaps far less known than his World Champion boxing titles, but far greater than any of his feats in the ring. He used his boxing fame as a means to an end with a goal of giving back to his community, and has given unknown millions to various charitable organizations. He has acted as statesman and has met with such world leaders as Queen Elizabeth, Pope John Paul II and Saddam Hussein.

His proclaimation “I am the greatest” may have been refering to his boxing prowess, but was indeed prophetic to other accomplishments in this great man’s life.

Responses

  1. wow. i admit i only know him for his boxing fame. it is nice to know he is even greater than that.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

