Posted by: PD Warrior | June 13, 2007

Hog Wild!

Soft leather, warm summer days, and the feeling of ultimate freedom as the wind whips through your hair…

Motorcycles – That’s what life used to be about for me during the summer. I’ve always owned two motorcycles; a Kawasaki that I rode during the day, and the Harley Davidson that I rode in my dreams at night.

Then came the divorce – I hate being stereotypical, but I sold the bike to pay for some of the bills that came with the divorce. Selling the motorcycle didn’t stop me from riding, I had plenty of friends/family with bikes that I could borrow whenever we planned a road trip, and I knew that I would be able to afford another one within 2-3 years.

Then came my wife, Stephanie – the absolute I-will-do-anything-for-her-love -of-my-life. I have to laugh at fate, because when I met her I had been saving up to buy another motorcycle. I had money in the bank and a Yamaha all picked out and,well…you can probably guess the rest of the story. My wife is wearing my motorcycle on her ring finger, and I would not change that for the world. I still had friends with bikes I could ride, and I was young enough that I could still save my money and buy a motorcycle in a couple of years.

Two years down the road fate stepped in again. Instead of buying a motorcycle I was making trips to neurologist’s 100-200 miles away from home in an effort to put a name on the weakness and tremors that I now have. Now, instead of a bike, I have a disease named Parkinson’s.

That’s okay though- gone are the days of sunny Sunday rides and Poker Runs, but I still ride the Harley in my dreams. Which brings me to the whole point of this story. After talking about PD with some of the people that were present when I gave my powerpoint presentation we came up with an idea.

I may not be able to ride, but that doesn’t mean I can’t organize a Poker Run to raise money for PD research. Some of the people I was talking with are either related to- or know someone that owns one of the local Harley Dealerships. They are now in the process of getting the names of people that I can contact to help me organize this event!

Leave a Reply

Categories

