Posted by: PD Warrior | July 26, 2007

Controversy

The more I read about stemcell research, the more I find myself torn. Having Parkinson’s disease myself, I understand all too well the benefits that could ultimately arise from the research. Yet, I find that I am emotionally at odds with myself over the issue.

I am selfish. I want a cure to be found, preferably in my lifetime. Because of this I find myself questioning my own moral and religious beliefs regarding stem cell research.

I have two fears. 1) a cure for many diseases is right under our collective noses but will never be found if we stop doing stem cell research  2) by doing stem cell research we are trying to be like God – a situation that can only end in disaster.

Which is right?

I don’t know the answer to that, but would love to hear other opinions.

Responses

  1. Dear Friend, I have looked into legislation and efforts made to expand stem cell research and found that the practice is already in place, but the stem cell lines are very limited. The difference would be the federal government’s funding and expanding the practice of harvesting stem cells for this purpose. The fact that these cells that parents no longer have use for are then disposed of, lends credence to the use of these cells that are in no way a fetus, but rather are cells that without implantation would not begin the formation of a child. It comes down to being pro-life — that of saving lives of adults with PD and other atypical PD disorders, or having this valuable resource disposed of, because of the confusion of these cells with actual developing fetuses. One could be pro-life and anti-abortion and support the use of this tissue that is useless as a result of the parents no longer choosing to implant these cells. Please go to the following link in order to read my report on this subject.

    http://pdplusme.blogspot.com/2007/02/hr-3-stem-cell-research.html

    I would welcome any responses or discussion regarding the importance of this federally needed funding and expansion of the research that will bring cures and save lives. — Patient On-line (PD Plus Me)

    Like

  2. I personally believe that the body knows how to heal itself. It just needs a little help remembering how sometimes.

    We are gathering evidence from persons with Parkinsons who are feeling better and who are finding relief from their symptoms. It is possible to feel better using natural methods. Some people have fully recovered.

    I also personally believe that there will never be a “cure” for Parkinson’s. Symptoms are caused by a variety of factors that are now well documented in the research literature (toxins, stress, poor nutrition, lack of exercise, etc.).
    Address the basics and Voila – you will feel better.

    Robert Rodgers, Ph.D.
    Parkinsons Recovery

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

