Posted by: PD Warrior | August 1, 2007

Stress and PD

The fact that stress can have a major impact on a persons Parkinson’s Disease symptoms is not a new idea to me. Besides having read about it almost every publication about PD that I have seen, I have also noticed it in myself on multiple occasions. The more stressful the day, physically or emotionally, the worse my symptoms are.

Now, for the first time that I can remember, I know what my PD feels like with decreased stress.

It Feels Glorious!!

I am currently on day 7 of an 11 day vacation, and I can’t remember when I have felt so good. I still have the PD symptoms – the tremors, the muscle stifness, difficulty starting to move, and the occasional balance issue, etc. etc. – but they are nowhere near as bad as usual!

Q: What’s the difference between this and other vacations I have taken in the last 4 years?

A: Nothing. – Let me rephrase that – with the exception of my weekend escape to the Dayton Airshow, I have done exactly “nothing.” That’s not to say I haven’t done anything at all. I have done a lot of work around the house, painting the porch, yanking out shrubs that my wife has wanted to get rid of for years. But, I have done nothing that involves any prior planning. No scheduling, no worrying about being anywhere on time, no special events that take two days to prepare for and are over in less than two hours, no trying to please anyone but my wife and myself… nothing. Sweet…tranquil…nothing.

For those of you out there with PD my suggestion is to try it some time. Plan a vacation that you don’t have to plan. Take some time to do nothing but breathe. Plan a vacation where you only do what you want to do, when you want to do it. If you have things to do around the house and you feel like doing them when you get up, great, do them. If you have things to do around the house, but you’d rather spend the day doing something out of the ordinary with the wife and kids (as long as it doesn’t involve a lot of stressful planning) then do it!!

I’m not saying you should neglect the world around you. I’m just saying you should take a little down time for yourself.  

Responses

  1. We’ve been taking this kind of vacation almost all of our adult lives! And yes, it’s much less stressful than the few times we “planned”. Our reason was lack of money LOL, but it still works!!!

    Like

  2. I think the lack of money is why our “planned” vacations always seem to generate more stress. LOL

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

