Posted by: PD Warrior | August 12, 2007

Decisions, decisions…

The last two visits I have had with my neurologist have been somewhat more than disappointing. I drove three hours to get to the facility, arrived around 20 minutes early both times, waited almost 3 hours to be seen (first by a student, then 20-30 minutes later by my doctor) only to be rushed out of the office ten munutes later – brushed off the MD’s shoulder like a piece of dandruff.

At the last appointment the doctor promised to call me before the day was over – I had an MRI done 3 months prior to the appointment, and wanted to know the results but, for whatever reason, the results were not in my chart. “The secretary must have them on her clipboard, I will call you today with the results…” was the answer I received.

Exactly 100 days have gone by, and the phone still hasn’t rang.

I have called the office twice, and was assured both times that the doctor would get back to me. I even went so far as to have the center wher the MRI was done re-fax the results to him.  I know he got them because an hour later I called his office to make sure the fax came through.

Working in the medical field myself, I understand that it is common practice to only call a patient if the reults of a test are “abnormal.” That is why I didn’t think anything of it when I had the test done and the doctor didn’t call me before my appointment. But, when he couldn’t find the results, and still hasn’t called back makes me rather suspicious. The test was specifically ordered because I have “hyper-reflexia” – an over exageration of autonomic reflexes (knee-jerk type movements) in both my knees and my elbows. This is something that doesn’t normally occur with Parkinson’s disease, and the symptom hasn’t changed since my last MD visit.

I could just go to the records dept where I had the test done and request a copy of the results for myself. I am a Registered Nurse with over ten years experience, and would have no difficulty interpreting what is said, but that isn’t the point.

Now I find myself having to make a decision. My next appointment with my Neurologist isn’t until the end of October, but confronted with a couple noticible changes in my symptoms I need to decide if I should continue with the same doctor, or go someplace entirely different.

Actually, I believe I have already made that decision. I want to go someplace different. I just haven’t decided where to go yet. The idea of having to start from scratch is rather annoying.

Responses

  1. Hi Joe,

    I am blessed to have found a neurologist who will reply to my emails within one business day. It is important to have a neurologist who is responsive to you on a timely basis.

    Right now you have the health, energy and education to be your own advocate. You need to have a competent and compassionate neurologist in place if and when you reach a point that you can’t be an advocate for yourself.

    Good luck in your search.

    Kate Kelsall
    Shake Rattle and Roll
    http://katekelsall.typepad.com/my_weblog/

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

