Posted by: PD Warrior | August 22, 2007

Hazy days and sunshine

I have talked quite a bit about the symptoms of Parkinson’s Disease that I am personally experiencing in previous posts, but I have never talked about the “haze.”

If you were to ask people on the street about Parkinson’s most of them would respond by saying something about the tremors that are typical with the disease. Then, if you were to ask them name some other symptoms of the ailment, most of them would stare at you with a blank face -ironically similar to the “Parkinson’s Mask” that so many people with PD end up with at some point during the course of the disease.

However, there are so many other symptoms that PD sufferers experience that, because they aren’t physically visible, the general public is unaware of. One of these symptoms is what I call the “haze” for lack of a better discription.

With PD, the muscular movement is not the only thing that becomes difficult. Sometimes the simple act of thinking can also be a chore. To me, when this occurs, it feels like I am walking through a haze. Things that are on the periphary of my thoughts are blurry. Like driving in the fog, I know that the street I am searching for is somewhere out there, but the only way I am going to make the turn is to slow down and concentrate or I will never make it to my destination. My mind literally does slow down, and it almost feels like I am trying to swim against the current in a river.

This becomes especially aggrevating when I am talking to someone. I will be having a perfectly normal conversation when suddenly I have to stop mid sentance and “search” for a particular word because I have suddenly stepped into the “haze.”  When it becomes apparent I won’t find the word I want, I have to switch gears and find the next best one, usually making my point a little less meaningfull. Often, the word I am searching for is a common everyday word that I shouldn’t have needed to think about at all.

The good news is that these periods are brief, and after a few seconds of fumbling around blindly I will step out into the sunshine. The bad news is that they happen 2 or 3 times a day, and if I am really tired, or really stressed they happen more often and last longer.

Responses

  1. Hi Joe,

    Thanks for pointing out the less visible symptoms of PD.

    My experience with the “haze” (as you so aptly described it) is feeling as though I’m wrapped in cellophane and separated from the rest of the world.

    Also, slow thinking (bradyphrenia) is a PD symptom for some of us, me included.

    Kate Kelsall
    Shake, Rattle and Roll
    http://katekelsall.typepad.com/my_weblog/

    Like

  2. i’m glad it is something that is brief…but i can only assume it is still horrible to have those episodes, no matter how brief.

    Like

  3. I live in that haze most of the time. I’m fine as long as I have time to reflect on what I want to say, such as online. But put me in a conversation, or worse yet, ask me a question, and I go blank. My DH tries hard to not get frustrated with me, but I’m sure it’s very hard to continue to carry on a conversation with someone who’s not completely “with it”. I don’t have tremors, and, except for slow walking and slow thinking, there’s nothing for people to “see”. There are LOTS of symptoms of PD that don’t “show”.

    PS Thanks for dropping by my blog and elaborating on GoLYTELY.

    Like

  4. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

