Posted by: PD Warrior | September 11, 2007

The Question

 The Question   

Confused, we watch as towers fall

And cry as unnamed soldiers die

Mesmerized and paralyzed

By the scene played out before us

And when the day is said and done

We turn to heaven, you and I

And ask of God, please tell me why

Have you seen the earth?

Was this deserved? What did we do?

What is your world now coming to?

 

Confused, we watch as towers fall

And cry as unnamed soldiers die

Mesmerized and paralyzed

By the scene played out before us

And when the day is said and done

He calls from heaven, to you and I

God asks of us, please tell me why

Have you seen the earth?

Was this deserved? What did you do?

What is your world now coming to?

 

 

I wrote this a year ago, September 11, 2006

In honor of those that did not sit idly by

            

Responses

  1. Worthy of the day.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing. I have trouble accepting that acts like 9/11 are “his” will.

    Like

  3. Sheila, I agree 100%, which is why I wrote the second verse the way I did, with God turning the question back to us. Not very many people realize that’s what I did. I can’t tell you how many people I had angry at me a year ago when I first wrote the poem – they thought the second verse was merely a repeat of the first until I pointed it out to them (Repeating a verse like that with subtle changes is one of my favorite tricks when I write “philosophical” poetry.)

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

