Posted by: PD Warrior | September 25, 2007

Anger

Do you see where I’m going with this? Envy, Gluttony, Lust, Anger…

Anger is in my humble opinion the worst of the 7 deadly sins, an emotion that has cost me much in my lifetime, and offered little to nothing in return.  It starts by devouring all of one’s time and energy, and if left unchecked, will grow exponentially until it has consumed one’s mind, heart, and soul.

That’s not to say anger doesn’t serve a purpose. In small amounts it can be productive. Anger was what saw me through nursing school – my advisers told me I would have to quit my job and dedicate all of my time to class work or I wouldn’t be able to make it through the course. I worked full time on 3rd shift at a local grocery store unloading trucks and stocking shelves. I needed the money, and more importantly, I needed the insurance. There was no way I could quit my job with a family to support. To hear my adviser tell me I would have to pick between my job and school because I was going to “fail at one of them” sent every ounce of anger I had into overdrive. Who was this teacher, and what right did she have telling me I was going to fail before she even knew me? Classes hadn’t even begun yet.  I can’t even begin to tell you how angry I was when she said that. Fortunately I managed to turn my anger into something constructive … determination. Not only did I not quit my job, but I graduated with a 3.7 average.

I will have to admit, I probably wouldn’t have made it through nursing school if my adviser hadn’t said those words to me. I don’t know if that was her intended outcome or not, but it worked in my favor.

I could also list several hundred times when anger sent me down the path to self destruction, primarily because I let it. Each time that happened I either didn’t have the strength, desire, or foresight to channel this destructive emotion properly.

For those of you diagnosed with a neurological disorder, or anyone facing a crisis of any kind, anger is unavoidable. It is the rawest form of human expression, impossible to deny. It plays a pivotal role in DABDA, an acronym for all the stages of grief a person must go through when faced with any type of loss – Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Acceptance.

Some people never make it past the anger stage. My hope in writing this post, is that once armed with a little bit of knowledge, people will be better able to recognize their anger for what it is, and channel it into something positive before it becomes destructive.

One of the most common ingredients in several chemotherapy drugs used to fight cancer, is cobra venom. Anger is just like that cobra venom; by itself it will kill us, yet used properly in small amounts, and in the right combination with other ingredients, it can be used to fight what I like to call the “everyday cancers” in our life.

Responses

  1. I am always angriest, just before I reach acceptance. With acceptance, then, I can view the thing or situation from a balanced viewpoint.

    Really good idea, doing the seven sins. I find your blog very well-written and informative.

    I’m looking forward to reading more!

    Like

  2. Marion, coming from someone who writes as well as you, this is a huge compliment. I am very glad to have you as a reader.

    Like

  3. I’m glad you got beyond the anger. Sometimes we just get to the point where we are tired–maybe that’s the acceptance. I like this series, as always, well-written.

    Like

  4. Sheila, I would have to agree with you. There have been many times in my life when I didn’t reach acceptance until I was just too tired to do anything else. Thank you for the compliment. As with Marion (above) recognition from someone who writes as well as you is a huge accomplishment. I am grateful to have you as a reader.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

