Posted by: PD Warrior | April 20, 2014

The Boy Is Back In Town

So, by looking at the date of my last post, it would appear that I have been gone for almost 7 years. Not that I ever really left, just took an overly long hiatus. During these past seven years a lot has happened. Yet, at the same time, nothing has happened.

Parkinson’s wise: Yep, you guessed it – I still have it. Annoying though it is, I am really none the worse for ware. Still able to work. Still popping pills…every-three-stinking-hours.

I really hate those pills, but I guess it beats the alternative.

Depression wise: Yep, you guessed it – I still have it. Truth be known, the depression is worse than the Parkinson’s ever will be. At least the PD is predictable. It’s there when I go to bed, it’s there when I wake up. It’s there when the pills aren’t working, and it’s still there when they are. It’s there when I breathe in, and there again when I breathe out. Steady. Constant. Predictable.

The depression, on the other hand is vicious in it’s instability. It comes when it wants, leaves when it wants and destroys whatever little pieces of me it can get its hands on, when ever it can get its hands on me. For those of you that don’t know, clinical depression is for many people, an intricate symptom of Parkinson’s Disease, caused by the same pathology that causes the tremors most associated with the disease – lack of dopamine. For many, the depression is one of the first actual symptoms of PD that they experience, yet it goes ignored because, as they say, most people feel “this too shall pass.” After all, it isn’t shaking, stumbling, moving so slow you can’t stand it, so it can’t possibly be PD related.

I have also been diagnosed with Celiac’s disease, meaning that unless I want to spend the majority of my time worshiping the porcelain idol in every establishment I go to, I will have to maintain a strict gluten free diet. What does that mean, you may ask? Well, basically it means that my diet now consists entirely of sawdust and sand.

Actually it isn’t quite that bad, but I need something to whine about now and again.

But, alas, I digress. As I said, the boy is back in town. At least for a little while. So brace yourself for more continuing adventures of the PD Warrior in the days to come.

Responses

  1. PD Warrior, I missed you all these years, but remember the days when you and Rosemary were the only other PD blogs before I started mine in 2006– I am sure I missed a couple, such as Mary’s “Life with Shaky…” anyway you get what I am aiming at… I was pleased to get your post and even more to see you back writing on your blog. God bless my friend. Patient-Online

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

