Posted by: PD Warrior | April 23, 2014

Good To The Last Drop

Nope, I’m not talking about coffee. In fact, I hate the stuff.

What I am talking about is my clumsiness. If I’m not tripping over the lines in the floor, I’m running into something. Or, in today’s case, dropping something. Oh, who am I kidding? It would be more note worthy if I didn’t drop something.

Most of the time it doesn’t bother me. I have, for the most part, come to terms with my alter-ego “Captain Clutz.” But some days, like today, the simplest disasters send me right over the edge. You see, when I am doing something like unloading the groceries, or carrying my dinner plate, a bowl of grapes and an overly full glass of milk into the living room, I absolutely hate to make more trips than absolutely necessary, and I am way to stubborn to admit that, even if I didn’t have Parkinson’s, balancing several items while trying to avoid stepping on the dog and cats while traversing the obstacle course of furniture in my house is not really a good idea. Add a long day at work into the picture, coupled with not really feeling well, and the situation was a recipe for doom right from the word go.

So you guessed it – one trip into the living room with everything I needed for a not so well balanced meal (pun intended) turned into multiple trips into the living room with paper towels, dish towels, cleaning agents, and more towels…and more towels after that.

Luckily my wife was there to softly remind me that “It’s okay.”

Over the years I have come to realize several things:

  1. As long as I have PD, I will continue to trip, stumble, shake, fall and drop pretty much everything I touch, and there isn’t I thing I can do about it.
  2. The world isn’t going to end just because I trip, stumble, shake, fall and drop pretty much everything I touch, no matter how mad I get or how big a fit I have.
  3. PD is never going to leave
  4. Thankfully, neither will my wife.

And as long as that last one is true…well, then it’s all good.

I love you Stephanie!

Leave a Reply

Categories

