Posted by: PD Warrior | January 26, 2016

Okay, On To Plan B…

One of the most important things for people with Parkinson’s Disease to do is to exercise. It’s good for the heart, it’s good for the mind, and it is obviously good for the muscles. A good exercise program will help with the stiffness that plagues people with PD, and it will release endorphins the body’s natural anti-depressants.

My neurologist has been nagging me…er, I mean “suggesting” that I start exercising on a regular basis for years. To which I always respond with the obligatory head nod and overly fake smile, which both he and I know roughly translates into “who are you kidding? We both know it ain’t ever gonna happen.”

I don’t have the time.

I don’t have the energy.

But for the last several weeks, I’ve been forced to take a good hard look at myself. Besides having PD, I am also diabetic.

And stubborn.

And because I am a stubborn diabetic, I suddenly find that I now need to take insulin shots several times a day.

Now, as a nurse, I have no problem giving myself insulin shots. However, as a patient, I don’t particularly enjoy giving shots to myself. So, now I find I don’t have much choice. I need to start exercising, and lose a little weight. It will be good for my Parkinson’s, and with any luck I will be able to back off on the insulin.

But, as I have already said – I am stubborn. I enjoy exercising about as much as I enjoy giving myself shots of insulin. So, if this is going to work, I will have to get creative.

Now with the Parkinson’s you can’t just do any kind of exercises. You have to be careful, especially if the exercise requires any sort of balance. Treadmills are out. Or at least in my case they are, because of the balance, and the way I shuffle my feet from the Parkinson’s. Elliptical machines are out, again because of the balance. Swimming is out, again because of the balance – not that it requires balance to swim, but when I found out how much it would cost me to join the local clubs/gyms to use their pool I almost fainted!

That leaves my recumbent stationary bike, which although safe, is quite boring.

So I came up with a rather genius plan to make it interesting. I decided I would push myself to “go around the world in a year.” That would be fun! I could plot things out on a map, figure out where I had pedaled to every day, make up stories about the sights I would see at these places… That would be a blast!

Today I began to plan it out: the earth is approximately 24,901 miles…divided by 365 days in a year, that’s only  – you have got to be kidding me – 68.2 miles a day! I might as well just nod my head, and smile my fake smile now, because we all know that “it just ain’t gonna happen!”

It would appear that, not only am I stubborn, but I can be a little stupid at times too. Sixty-eight point two miles a day. What was I thinking?

On to plan B: Ten miles per day. At that rate I should make it completely around the world in 6 years and 10 months…give or take a month…or two…did I mention that I’m stubborn?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

