Posted by: PD Warrior | April 2, 2016

I’m All Too Aware…

April is Parkinson’s disease awareness month.

That is, it’s Parkinson’s disease awareness month for the rest of the world. For those of us with Parkinson’s, for those of us that have family members with Parkinson’s, for those of us that are care givers for people with Parkinson’s, every day is Parkinson’s awareness month.

We can’t help but be aware.

We are reminded of it constantly.

Personally, I am reminded of it every three hours from the time I wake up, until the time I go to bed. That’s how often my alarm goes off on my phone, telling me it is time to take my pills. Even on the good days when the pills are doing their job, my tremors are under control, and I’m not tripping over my own two feet, the alarm clock reminds me.

And that’s ok. It’s easier to shut off the alarm and take my pills than it is to ignore the alarm and let my body remind. Because once the pills wear off, it isn’t pretty. Comical at times, yes. But pretty? No.

Sometimes my body reminds me I have PD even before the alarm clock does. Sometimes the pills wear off early. And sometimes they just don’t just kick fully in.

But enough about me. You see, I’m not the only person suffering from the disease. Their are millions of others that suffer from it too, and I’m not just talking about the people with the disease. As I mentioned above – people who have family members with the disease, people who have loved ones with the disease, people who care for those of us with the disease suffer from it to.

My wife, God bless her, has been with me through thick and thin since this wild journey began 12 yeas ago. She has helped me beyond anything I could have ever hoped for. She has been with me for my appointments. She has held my hand when I was afraid. She has been my shoulder to lean on. She has endured my moodiness, my fits, my tantrums, my stubborn streaks. She has laughed with me, and she has cried with me. But the one thing she has never done…she has never once let me feel like I was in this alone.

Yes, April is Parkinson’s awareness month…for the rest of the world. But for some of us, every day is Parkinson’s awareness month.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

